Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Shaking the Carboy Leads to Oxidation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2011, 07:12 PM   #1
Ace_Club
Legendary Influential Brewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1516 Times on 1440 Posts
Likes Given: 52722

Default Shaking the Carboy Leads to Oxidation?

Twice now I've seen Revvy reply to someone who's been shaking their carboy that that will lead to oxidized beer. While I'm not a proponent of shaking carboys, it piqued my curiosity.

Now I may be wrong here, but this is the way I think about it. The wort has been fermenting and expelling CO2, so there should be no O2 in the head space as it would have been expelled due to the pressure. So, if all you have is CO2 in the carboy, then shaking the fermenter and splashing the contents shouldn't pose a risk of oxidation at all.

Again, just curious.

"If guns don't kill people, why do we give people guns when they go to war? Why not just send the people?" - Ozzy Osbourne

Sent from my iPhone 4s.

Canon T2i | EF-S 18-55mm | EF 28mm 1.8 | EF 50mm 1.8 | EF-S 55-250mm

3 whipped dog straights, Gillette Ball End Tech, 1959 Gillette Fat Boy

Secondary: Strawberry Melomel

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2011, 07:15 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2712 Times on 1630 Posts
Likes Given: 3484

You sure as hell increase the risk of it, especially if you have violated the co2 barrier in some way, like, for example opening it up to take a hydro reading, or move it or any number of things. Your Co2 cushion is only as safe as you make it. If you get o2 in there, and then shake it, you are going to shake that oxygen into the beer.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.