The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Saving water!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 08:08 PM   #21
rhamilton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 64 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Due to water conservation rules, I was obliged not to waste water when I started brewing:

Convert your IC to use a submersible pump instead of a garden hose so you have a closed system.

[Pump In Ice Chest] ---> [IC] -- [Return To Ice Chest]

Start with just enough H2O to keep the pump primed. Add ice. As the hot water returns, it'll melt the ice so you have more water volume and colder water.

Keep adding ice until you hit your target temp. Refreeze the water in the ice chest for your next cooling session.

Nothing is wasted except for evaporation.

Kegged: County Jail Pale Ale, AHS Anniv IPA, AHS Brooklyn Brown, Raspberry Wheat, Blood Orange Hefe, Ranger IPA clone (x2), Newcastle clone, AHS Irish Red, Centennial Blonde
Bottled: Session Series Belgian Saison, Apocalypso, Pecan Porter, DFH 90 Minute Clone, Apfelwein (x2), Wytchmaker Rye IPA Clone, Vienna/Simcoe SMaSH, Munich/Cascade SMaSH
CBMbrewer Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2012, 08:09 PM   #22
Hamsterbite
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I brew in the backyard, use an immersion chiller, and the water I use to do that goes right into the swimming pool, so chilling is not an issue.

However, bottle washing and sanitizing does use a lot of water. Now if someone could come up with and market cleaning and sanitizing products that were plant safe, I'd collect that water and use in the garden. As it is, it has to go down the drain.
Kegging may save some water over bottling as far as cleaning goes. It does help to use one of those pump action bottle washers though...you recycle the water over many bottles as opposed to running the faucet for 30 minutes.