Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Results from first comp... feeling frustrated, confused

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2011, 07:31 PM   #11
beerboy5150
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

congrats on the scores brewzilla.. there not too bad... so dont feel to fustrated.. remember opinions are like A** Holes everyone has one... if you like your beer dont sweat it.. ive never entered a contest because i know if my beer is good or not... im the only one i have to please... i enjoy swmbo coments (she doesnt drink) of thats the worst Fkn Beer ive ever tasted

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2011, 07:47 PM   #12
OldManHouston
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

I've been brewing for 4 years and have just recently started thinking about entering in competitions. I wouldn't take the score sheets to heart too much.

So you're concerned about the fruity esters... I notice in the Amber ale you used Wyeast 1272. This yeast gives fruitier esters in my experience. Without sampling the beers (oh and you should send me some ) I have no clue what the judge was tasting, but the fruity note might just be from that yeast so there may be nothing to worry about process-wise there.

Old 03-13-2011, 07:52 PM   #13
BmillaTheBrewzilla
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by beerboy5150 View Post
i enjoy swmbo coments (she doesnt drink) of thats the worst Fkn Beer ive ever tasted
LOL. Doesn't drink? Wait... that's an option??

Old 03-13-2011, 07:57 PM   #14
BmillaTheBrewzilla
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldManHouston View Post