Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Request for advice from the experts

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 11:08 PM   #21
bduane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkeller12

Well it certainly isn't finished based on the kraeusan I am seeing. I went to take a gravity reading and this is what I found. So it is not pressure from the temperature change and definitely not finished.

I am new to brewing but am I right when I assume that because it fermented at such a high temp in the beginning the the yeast fell out and after it rested it is trying to finish the job? Can that be the case? Also, it is still out of the cooler and I feel it should go back in, show I cool it down now?
I would not put it back in the cooler, most of the fermentation is already done, meaning most of the yeast by-product flavors are already there, the little bit of fermentation you have left should not have a significant impact on flavor just for being on the warm side. Your initial warm fermentation might have created some off flavors, too late to worry about that though!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 11:58 PM   #22
JJL
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Yeah no sense in wildly fluctuating the temps at this point. That may have been what slowed the fermentation in the first place.

Old 10-19-2012, 12:02 AM   #23
dkeller12
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts

Ok. I will leave it out as you are probably right, the damage from the initial fermentation temps have already done the damage. I am glad that it has started again.

Old 10-19-2012, 04:20 PM   #24
tre9er
Recipes 

Liked 233 Times on 197 Posts
Likes Given: 35