Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Replacing Hop Aroma Tablets

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
msarro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Replacing Hop Aroma Tablets

Hey Everyone,
I recently bought a recipe for a pliny clone at my local HBS. The recipe includes a number of hop aroma tabs. I've never used these before, and before I put them in my beer I was looking into what all they're composed of. Turns out that its hop oils, effervescent chemicals, and some other stuff. Now, this may sound grouchy, but I tend to like to keep my beers as close to natural as possible (outside of using some campden when dealing with fruit). So, does anyone have any ideas how many AAU's or the weight in hops that a hop aroma tab would translate to? There are 2 tabs added at 30 minutes, and 3 added at flame out.

I can't even tell what hop they're from, so I am going to assume cascade (that seems to be the most omnipresent hop tab online).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2011, 02:15 PM   #2
dcHokie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 238 Times on 183 Posts
Likes Given: 173

I've never used them, but it sounds like they may just be pelletized, concentrated hop oils?? Here is the description from the Williams Brewing site:

Have you wanted to increase the hop character of your beer without making it too bitter? Made of hop oils isolated from C02 hop extract, Hop Aroma Tabs are virtually free of alpha acids. These dense tablets deliver flavorful oil deep into the wort, adding more aromatic oil than is normally possible with traditional whole or pellet hops.

Made from varying aromatic hops, use 1 to 2 quarter-sized tablets per 5 gallons of wort, adding at the end of the boil or in the fermenter. Tablets are brittle and often arrive broken - this one ounce pack contains about 6 tablets.