Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > (random musing) Has your beer 'nose' changed since you started brewing?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #1
jwic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default (random musing) Has your beer 'nose' changed since you started brewing?

I've found that, before I started brewing, I used to smell "beer." If some spilled on the floor and I forgot to mop it up, I smelled "beer." If I opened a beer and started pouring, I would smell "beer." Now that I've had my nose in more than a few different kinds of grains, malts, and hops, I've found that I open a beer and smell grains/malts, hops, and yeast; the constituent parts stand out, instead of just one general "beer" smell. In fact, I can't smell them as a whole, I just smell one or the other ingredients.

Has this happened to anyone - or everyone - else?

T: @CHAOSBrewClub
F: facebook.com/CHAOSBrewClub

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2011, 02:27 PM   #2
enohcs
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 9 Posts

Awww...you've reached brewing puberty.
I truly enjoy tasting beer and picking out the components, especially with homebrew since I know exactly what has gone in it. It heightens the drinking experience.
Now go try a bud or coors and you will surely notice the subtle flavors and they will become slightly more than piss.
(disclaimer...I'm a big fan of coors. A quality lager in my opinion)

Matt

Old 05-27-2011, 03:16 PM   #3
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1926 Times on 1694 Posts
Likes Given: 1428