Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Beer Discussion (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/)
-   -   Raleigh are brewers - Need advice - opinions (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/raleigh-brewers-need-advice-opinions-222364/)

Special Hops 02-02-2011 01:50 PM

Raleigh are brewers - Need advice - opinions
 
So I am moving to Raleigh next month for about a 2 year stint. Any of you locals care to fill me in on such things as:

LHBS - What is (are ) the best one(s). How is service, price, selection, grain milling etc.

Brewpubs - ditto above

Water quality - Currently I have great city water to brew with and only pop in a camden tablet to get rid of the chlorine. How is the Raleigh water for brewing?

Brewclubs - Any in the area worth checking out.

Anything else you would like to share. thanks in advance

oteixeira 02-02-2011 01:56 PM

You will get plenty of answers, there are probably 200 brewers (hb) in the Raleigh and surrounding areas.

LBHS - American Brewmaster

Brewpubs - Roth Brewing, Aviator brewing, Big Boss, Lonerider, probably more I can't remember

Water - No Idea, I have a well and live in the sticks

Brewclubs - http://www.carboyclub.com/ is the organized one, there is also a group of brewers that have a mailing list, and are happy to be known as unorganized, they are called GRABASS

For other beers on tap, check out the Flying Saucer...

You will like it here,

Orlando

Rofeletan 02-02-2011 01:58 PM

I just started brewing last year here in Raleigh.
LHBS: American Brewmaster is the big one, Fifth Season Gardening is starting to stock some home brew supplies but don't have the selection of ABM

Brewpubs: So many good local breweries in the Raleigh/Durham area, Aviator, Lonerider, Big Boss, Roth, Fullsteam, Natty Greenes, I am sure I am missing some off the top of my head

Water Quality: I live in Morrisville so I have Cary water, but I haven't any issues using tap water or the water from my filter on the fridge

Brew clubs: I recently started hanging out with the GRABASS guys, most of them are also on the board. I know there are at least 2 other clubs in the area as well

LeglessDog 02-02-2011 02:19 PM

Welcome!
 
Raleigh is a town full of homebrewers and beer lovers in general, you'll be in good company.

American Brewmaster is the store here. Their pricing is very fair--when you count in S&H, they are in line with the best online suppliers. The selection of equipment and ingredients is solid, and they will order stuff for you if they don't have it. The guys are friendly and knowledgeable. There's a self-serve mill, and it's preset--it's always worked just fine for me.

There are two main brewpubs in Raleigh right now, Natty Greene's and Boylan Street . . . I have not been to either one, so I can't comment on the pubs themselves. I have sampled some of NG's beers and they weren't bad, but I also don't remember much about them . . . so they weren't fantastic either. There are a number of great breweries in the area with tasting rooms/bars, and the list keeps growing. There are also a decent number of bars/restaurants with nice lists: Raleigh Times Bar, Busy Bee, Flying Saucer are three big players.

Water quality here is good, though I've heard it can be a bit soft. Here's a link I found not long ago that might help you out: http://www.raleighnc.gov/home/content/PubUtilPlants/Articles/WaterQualityReports.html

Clubs:
NC Brewer's Guild -- http://www.ncbeer.org/
CARBOY -- http://www.carboyclub.com/index.htm

skeeordye11 02-02-2011 02:33 PM

Welcome. This is the greatest tool for finding the breweries and LHBS: http://beermapping.com/maps/citymaps.php?m=triangle. I think most everyone I have brewed with here just uses it straight from the tap or just runs it through a filter. If you want to hang out sometime, keeo your eyes peeled in the brewing events and local gatherings area for GRABASS events. We usually do something around once a month. There's also a club in Durham if you end up on that end of the area. http://trubclub.com/

Agreed that this is a great area for beer and homebrewers.

FerroPlasm 02-02-2011 04:20 PM

How can I sign up for notifications of GRABASS events?

Walker 02-02-2011 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FerroPlasm (Post 2607991)
How can I sign up for notifications of GRABASS events?

either PM me or skeeordye your email address and we can add you to the list.

Walker 02-02-2011 04:53 PM

BTW: GRABASS does things in style. ;)

jbug440 02-02-2011 04:54 PM

I <3 Bigboss check out their tour 2nd Saturday of every month.

No one mentioned CBC Carolina brewing company.

Brewpubs- Cherry bombs is right around the corner from flying saucer,they have a big selection.(I think same owners as the LHBS American brewmasters). Tylers taproom and Cameron draft house are good too.

jbug440 02-02-2011 04:55 PM

Double post
Sorry


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.