Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > OK so it is both awesome and sad for me

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2012, 07:47 PM   #1
matteroftaste
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default OK so it is both awesome and sad for me

let me explain,
I am a homebrewer living in London UK, i have been homebrewing succesfullly or not for 2 years, and an overwheling majority of the information on brewing science and technique that i have devoured comes from the US.
Now please dont get me wrong, i'm very greatful for the internet, you guys here, publications imported and the millions of podcasts, videos and blogs on the subject strewn all over the internet is awesome!

i'm just saddened not the have the network here, no one I know brews, its seen as a fringe interest, and the few people I do find who homebrew turn out to be kit brewers with no interest in the hobby beyond cheap 'acceptable' beer.

I guess my point is that here in the UK we have a wonderful and vibrant history of beer brewing, commercially and domestically. Not longer than a century ago, houses built with breweries in the basement. I find it sad that a culture that is socially and culturally British no longer thrives here, but i am gladdened that it is kept alive by passionate people like yourselves in the states.

just a thought i had

please forgive any colloquialisms....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
ChillWill
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Sucks to be you!!! Haha, just kidding.

FWIW, I actually work for a Derbyshire brewery that has a brewery on the grounds of a country estate in some old masonry / carpenters workshops (also has a proper production facility elsewhere), so it's not all dead.

Jim's beer kit forums tend to be more UK-centric if you feel home sick.

Old 12-18-2012, 08:21 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc