Newb - have 3 beer kits from 1999 - can I still brew this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dna_alexov

Reaction score
I'm just getting started with brewing my own beer from home. Just started my first batch this Sunday - hopefully it will taste good.

My question is that a bud gave me three old beer kits that he never used. These are the standard kits in a sealed can with the pouch of yeast. Two of the kits had Best Before dates of 1999 and the other 2004. One of the 1999 kits is missing the pouch of yeast. Can I still use these kits? I would assume since they are air tight sealed in the cans, that they should be fine. Though I was told that the yeast may be bad. Can I use yeast bought from the store if my 9 year old yeast is bad?

Thanks

Welcome to HBT!

You can use the cans but there is no telling how good they will be. Nothing in there is going to hurt you but they may not taste that good. They are free so nothing really wasted except you time if they're bad. You will need to get new yeast for them!

"yeast from the store" You mean from the home brew supply store, not the grocery store, correct? The yeast you can get at a grocery store is for making bread, not good tasty beer.

If it's a decade old liquid extract in metal cans, it will probably taste aweful nasty...it would have oxydized, and picked up all manner of metallic flavors...and it would be dark as all get out...

We're talking major extract twang here...

You could brew with it, but I wouldn't hold out much hope on having a pleasant tasting beer.

It took me a while to find this over at TastyBrew.com | Homebrew Recipes & Resources, but this was a project that was worked on by Dan Listermann