Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Beer Discussion (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/)
-   -   Need some help/opinions (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/need-some-help-opinions-371117/)

KeyWestBrewing 12-01-2012 12:34 AM

Need some help/opinions
 
2 simple questions for you all..... Im planning to brew up a stout and wanted some thoughts on the recipe. The other thing is I plan on using Dennys Favorite 50 and Im wondering how to put it into my beersmith since it doesnt have it?
Heres the recipe.....

Est OG 1.07
Est FG 1.016 -.18
Abv ~7%
IBU 29.8
Yeast - Wyeast 1450
Ferment 17-21 days @ 65F

*Grain Bill*

Mash- Single infusion, 60 min @ 155

8.5# Marris Otter
1.75# White Wheat
1.5# C60
1# Flaked Oats
12 oz Chocolate malt
8 oz Black Roast Barley

*Boil*

1oz Magnum @ 30 min
1# Cocoa Nibs Candi Syrup @ 15min
.5# Lactose @ 10 min

jsv1204 12-01-2012 12:42 AM

My advice is skip the chocolate and use more roasted barley. Make sure it is roasted unmalted barley.

Cheers!

KeyWestBrewing 12-04-2012 04:15 AM

Anyone else???

DerStoff 12-04-2012 09:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KeyWestBrewing (Post 4637696)
2 simple questions for you all..... Im planning to brew up a stout and wanted some thoughts on the recipe...

Could you specify what kind of stout you're going after? I know not everyone brews tightly to BJCP styles, but what sort of flavours, mouthfeels, aromas would you prefer to see in your stout?

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsv1204 (Post 4637724)
My advice is skip the chocolate and use more roasted barley. Make sure it is roasted unmalted barley.

Cheers!

What is the reason for this substitution?

I want to agree offhand, as chocolate malt is usually better suited to porters, but it's nice to give reasons behind suggestions like this so the questioning homebrewer can learn what this grain will contribute to his beer.


Overall KeyWest its difficult to say what you're trying to achieve. From your provided grain bill it looks like you want a medium/light stout (crystal 60 & wheat) with medium dry (black barley) yet quite sweet character (oats and choc malt).

I agree with the guy who responded, though maybe you could add roasted (unmalted) barley while reducing your chocolate malt, as this would bring your stout up from the dryness of black malt to a more rounded mouthfeel.

But other brewers might have different experiences with different malts...really depends on what you're trying to achieve with it as I said above.

Hope that helps somewhat, haoppy brewing :mug:

discooby 12-04-2012 09:59 AM

With the lactose and cocoa nibs it looks like you want a semi-sweet chocolate stout?

This is a good one…
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f68/dark...7/#post1546904

KeyWestBrewing 12-04-2012 12:56 PM

Yea I'm aiming for a chocolate cream stout with a bit higher abv than BJCP guidelines. The recipe is kind of a mix between the Deception Cream stout and Yoopers Oatmeal stout.

KeyWestBrewing 12-04-2012 12:58 PM

They didn't have roasted barley at AHS when I was putting this together, just the black roasted. So up the roast barley and cut back on the chocolate malt?

Pappers_ 12-04-2012 01:15 PM

I disagree with the advice above about getting rid of the chocolate malt and replacing it with roasted barley. I use a mix of the two in my cream stout, have experimented with different proportions, starting with 1/2 lb each in a five gallon batch is a good starting point.

aceparadis 12-04-2012 02:55 PM

Why is the mash temp so high?

KeyWestBrewing 12-04-2012 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pappers_
I disagree with the advice above about getting rid of the chocolate malt and replacing it with roasted barley. I use a mix of the two in my cream stout, have experimented with different proportions, starting with 1/2 lb each in a five gallon batch is a good starting point.

Good to hear this was my gut feeling after reading countless recipes.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.