Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > My Belgian Wit (In primary) lacks BODY... please help!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2012, 04:13 AM   #1
RickyLopez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My Belgian Wit (In primary) lacks BODY... please help!

im very new at homebrewing. I started right away with all grain, and I have made 3 successful batches, much to my surprise!!!

On my 4th, I made a belgian wit. I followed a recipe i found online, which called for belgian 2 row, oats, flaked wheat, rice hulls, corriander and orange zest (which i grated from a fresh orange).

Well, the primary is pretty much finished now... Im going to rack it in 2 days, but i sampled a little bit today...and although the spice is right on the money (tastes almost exactly like hoegaarden)..it is lacking in body... its almost like a watery beer, with the aroma and spicy taste of a hoegaarden...

I was reading around to see what i can possibly do...and as i am new to this, i considered the following:

1. boil up some sugar and add it to the secondary? or primary? dont rack and leave sugar in?

2. DME????

3. Cut my losses and just leave as is????

I just really need to give it a good "kick" in the "beer" part...as i think the spices are already good.

thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2012, 04:25 AM   #2
veritas524
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Leave it be. Anything you do now can ruin what you have. Did you mash low?

Old 04-20-2012, 06:49 AM   #3
daksin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 275 Times on 240 Posts
Likes Given: 324

The body will come around with a bit of age, but CARBONATION is the #1 thing that influences mouthfeel. Give this thing another week on the yeast, any secondary you're doing, if any, and then carb that beer up. I guarantee you it will be fuller bodied than you expect.