Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Ministry and beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2012, 01:42 AM   #1
RedGuitar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 20 Posts

Default Ministry and beer

I'm in seminary and a candidate for ordination with the Methodist church. I just received word that I'm receiving an appointment as pastor at a small rural church in NC this upcoming summer. While I have no theological/moral complications with brewing, drinking and being a pastor, I'm wondering what the church I'll be pastoring might think.

Knowing that this is a forum for homebrewers, I'm not expecting anybody on here to have any objections to a minister who brews and drinks. My concern is what would all of your grandmas say about it.

And... discuss.

"I sit here and drink my good Wittenberg Beer, and the Kingdom of God comes all by itself." -Martin Luther

"Good men drink good beer." -Hunter S. Thompson

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 01:45 AM   #2
bleme
Recipes 

Liked 275 Times on 205 Posts
Likes Given: 39

I am selective about who at church knows that I brew because it would be a stumbling block for some of them. My brewing partner is a fellow member at church though. Basically it is just our extended families that are aware of our hobby.

Old 03-27-2012, 01:50 AM   #3
DoubleAught
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 78 Posts
Likes Given: 29

I've never looked at drinking a beer or two as anything to judge a person by. I grew up a Lutheran and remember very well the pastors drinking beer at wedding receptions, no one ever judged that I was aware of. My brother is a Lutheran pastor as well and I know he doesn't have a problem with it either.

Now if they were out there chugging beer and acting a fool then there might be issues