The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Lowest price best quality supply store online

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2012, 07:33 PM   #1
jcomiskey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lowest price best quality supply store online

Hi all!
I just started brewing yesterday. I picked up all the supplies at a somewhat local store. After checking online I came across Bells.com which had the 3lb bag of DME for $10.99 while I paid $15.99...big difference.
So I was wondering if anyone knows where I can get DME and others (barley, etc.) at even lower costs? I am willing to buy bulk, up to 50lbs, DME as well should that help.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 06:38 AM   #2
Bear419
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Northern Brewer and Midwest Supplies have good selection and decent prices. NB has flat rate shipping on many items which can be a real boon depending where you live.

That said, if you are new to brewing, it may be worth paying the premium at you LHBS from time to time. Build a relationship and tap into their expert knowledge.

Old 06-10-2012, 06:45 AM   #3
JoeBronco
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 14

You have to really look for lowest prices on each product. I find it best to stick to just a few online places and your LHBS. Grain is normally cheaper at your home brew store due to shipping unless your close to a Northern Brewer. Grow a relationship and go from there. Sometimes the knowledge and tips you learn from your LHBS is worth more than the extra few dollars your spending. I know that HopTech (my LHBS) has saved more than a handful of my batches of beers since i started. I personally use the following.

Niko - Hops in bulk
Brew brothers out of Oregon - Hard to find Hops
Ebay

On Deck ______________ Tasty's Brown (Brown with NB)
1st Primary ____________ Sour Pliny
Kegged________________ Sangio.Port Wine