Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > For the love of Dry Yeast?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2008, 01:33 PM   #1
Diablotastic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default For the love of Dry Yeast?

So I'm relatively new to Homebrewing (extremely new to AG) and I know it depends on the style of beer but it seems that Dry Yeast seems to be a wonderful thing. It's like 1/3 the cost of liquid and doesn't seem to need a starter from what I've read. Of course I'm working of a 55lb bag of base US 2 row so it's seems that most recipes I've been trying can use a Safale or Notty and this may change when I start a run of Belgians but other then that....why does it seem that the LHBS and online stores try and push the more expensive Liquid versions when a dry yeast seems to work just as good if not better for alot of styles?

PRIMARY:Empty
SECONDARY:Empty
KEGGED:Orange Kolsch (BM's)
KEGGED:House Rye Pale Ale
ON DECK:Centennial Blonde

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2008, 01:37 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 134 Times on 127 Posts

Easy, they are more expensive. What I find amazing are people buying liquid yeast strains that are identical to dried strains.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 10-25-2008, 01:40 PM   #3
Coastarine
We get it, you hate BMC.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

^+1