Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Location, Location, Location???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 03:21 AM   #1
cank
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default Location, Location, Location???

I need some opinions:
I am just getting into brewing and will start my first batch this weekend. Scored the free starter kit from Northern Brewer on Cyber Monday and I am getting everything ready. After reading several books and lurking on the forums I am ready to ask my first question.

I have two locations to choose from to set up my brewing (not the first batch, but while it's fermenting)

In the back of my garage I have a 10'x11' room full of tools and storage crap. It does not have water or a drain but it is heated and cooled.

In my backyard I have a 16'x17' greenhouse. It needs some cleanup, a few new windows, and a new roof. It has a Natural Gas line run to a heater but I think it's clogged. I have three 20amp lines that I can run to it easily and water is just feet away. And of course, I would call it the "BrewHouse"

I live in Arkansas, where it gets 100+ in the summer (for about a month) with high humidity and 20's in the winter (month or two).

If you had a choice, where would you brew?

I plan on fermenting either inside or in a converted fridge. I want to move to all grain after the first few batches.

img_2428.jpg   img_2430.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 03:26 AM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2749 Times on 1648 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

I'm partial to green houses....

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman