Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Which light beer to make?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2013, 12:49 PM   #1
Cider123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 200 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Which light beer to make?

I have this problem of looking at my next "on deck" recipe before I even make the one "at bat". I'm making my Bitter next weekend, but now that I'm set on the recipe, I'm already looking at what comes next.

I'm ready to make something light and refreshing, but I don't want the body of a lager. Being a newb, I don't know how to describe it best. I want something that has the frothiness and body of a wit, but not as heavy or spicy. Also a bit malt forward rather than dry. I don't want something that looks crystal clear like a much better tasting BMC.

I have been through this forum, my books and Beersmith a hundred times.

I am dizzy, going over and over the differences/similarities of a Kolsch, a blonde ale, an altbeer, Yooper's fizzy yellow beer, and a munich helles. With the exception of the Blonde, I can't find any of these in the stores.

I'll probably just pick one and start working my way through them. Any thoughts where I should start? Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
nasty_rabbit
Recipes 

Liked 92 Times on 62 Posts

Look at BierMunchers "Centenial Blonde"

Old 01-13-2013, 03:24 PM   #3
nukebrewer
Brew the brew!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 10 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2544 Times on 1495 Posts
Likes Given: 5722

I brewed this for a wedding back in October and everyone who tried it loved it. BierMuncher's Centennial Blonde is also very popular, so I would second that even though I've never brewed it myself.

The only thing more asinine than stupid rules is the enforcement of rules simply because they are the rules.

Inhopsicated: A Beer Blog

Inhopsicated on Twitter