Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Layer of C02

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2010, 02:05 PM   #1
mlyday
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 915
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Default Layer of C02

I dont have a kegging system yet, so I dont have a c02 tank, but I want to be able to lay down a layer of c02 on my beer after racking it to my secondary. I have access to a paintball canister, but dont know what type of connectors or hoses I would need.

Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
mlyday is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:08 PM   #2
j1laskey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,840
Liked 189 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Why would you do this? The yeast that is in the beer already will take care of this for you.

__________________
Primary: Hornpout Stout
Secondary:
Kegged: Monsta Pumpkin Mash, Saint Stephens' Eleven Ale, Pirate Strong Ale, Cascadian Dark Ale
The Secretion Brewery

Let's think it over and stop making sense
j1laskey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:17 PM   #3
mlyday
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 915
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Default

Well after racking to the secondary there is none there for a small amount of time. During this time it would be exposed to oxygen. Also I may be getting a 14 gallon conical from a friend, and will still only be doing 5-6 gallon batches, and would want to throw down a layer of C02 at the begining of fermentation.

__________________
mlyday is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:23 PM   #4
November
...relax...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
November's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern AZ
Posts: 444
Liked 44 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

If you are wanting to do this to prevent oxidization, I wouldn't worry about it. After racking, enough CO2 will come out of suspension to displace the air in the small void in the top of the carboy. In fact, even though fermentation may be complete you may see some bubbling of the airlock after transferring due to the CO2 coming out of suspension. If you absolutely must try please remember that carboys are probably not the best container to hold pressure, so use a very low pressure and allow excess air and co2 a means to escape.

__________________
November is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:40 PM   #5
mlyday
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 915
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Default

Im not talking about pressuring them at all. CO2 is heavier than air and will just sit on top of the beer.

So I would rack the beer, "pour" a layer of CO2 on top of the beer, then place on the airlock.

It may not be needed as much when I rack to secondary, but If I use the big primary conical I might.

Does anybody know what type of dispenser or valve I would need.

__________________
mlyday is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:45 PM   #6
carrotmalt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: .
Posts: 469
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlyday View Post
...and would want to throw down a layer of C02 at the begining of fermentation.
At the beginning of fermentation, you want the O2, so I don't think you want to add CO2 at this point. My understanding is the extra headspace is only an issue during secondary.
__________________

I like a little more beer in my beer.

carrotmalt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:52 PM   #7
mlyday
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 915
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Default

Maybe I was just confusing something I read somewhere.
So a five gallon batch in a 14 gal fermentor shouldnt cause problems?

__________________
mlyday is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 02:52 PM   #8
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Revvy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Detroitish" Michigan
Posts: 40,804
Liked 2724 Times on 1632 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Default

If it were THAT risky we'd be doing it all the time. There is a certain amount of co2 already in solution from fermentation, and that's coming over with your beer, and it's going to kick up on it's own and further protect it.

Your beer is not that "sensitive." It can handle being in secondary, and being racked to secondary. It can handle just about everything we do to it in the normal course of brewing, and even making mistakes.

Although I'm not a big user of secondaries, but folks have been using it for centuries without having to do anything "special" to have the already present co2 protect the beer/wine. And have stuff in secondaries for months if not years. I've have to, and never saw the need to add more co2 to it. And never had any issues.

It really isn't crucial to do this.

__________________

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

Revvy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 03:00 PM   #9
carrotmalt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: .
Posts: 469
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlyday View Post
Maybe I was just confusing something I read somewhere.
So a five gallon batch in a 14 gal fermentor shouldnt cause problems?
I ferment 5.5 gallon batches in a 16 gallon Sanke keg and I don't use a secondary.
__________________

I like a little more beer in my beer.

carrotmalt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2010, 03:11 PM   #10
mlyday
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 915
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts

Default

Now that I think about it, I saw this on a youtube video, and it was when the guy was transfering to the keg, he "poured" some c02 into the keg before racking the beer in. Somehow I got things confused.

__________________
mlyday is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the size of the krausen layer mean anything? velorider General Beer Discussion 10 11-05-2008 10:14 PM
Yeast Layer kash General Beer Discussion 11 07-28-2007 04:33 AM