The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Lack of intense hop aroma...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
Devin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 39 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default Lack of intense hop aroma...

I am fairly new to brewing - been doing it for about a year now. I just finished my 10th brew (2nd AG). During the process, I have been trying to achieve the intense hop aroma that some of my favorite craft beers have. I have tried late hop additions, dry hopping, and hop steeping at the end of the boil. For my first AG, I also switched to kegging, so I decided to dry hop in the keg. I put the hops in a bag and let the keg sit at ~68 deg F for about 4 days, then I moved the keg to the kegerator. I was sure that I was going to get good hop aroma this time. I pulled a pint last night and was disappointed with the hop aroma once again - almost none.

I am going to try to weight the hop bag and get it to sink tonight. I read somewhere that the hop oils tend to rise to the top?

I am not sure what else to do other than up the hop additions. I have read about the hop-back idea also - I might try that.

This last batch used a total of 7 oz of hops, 2 oz of which were steeped for 25 minutes after the boil, and 2 oz of which are currently in the keg for dry hopping.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2013, 03:48 PM   #2
mrrshotshot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Way more hops! My IPA calls for 17.5 oz of hops! 11 gallon batch. Only 3 of those are dry hopping and one is bittering. The rest are late additions and steeping. I'm thinking about getting the hop rocket from Blichmann.

EDIT: I think it's 17.5, I don't have my recipe with me but it's ballpark.

Old 01-15-2013, 03:51 PM   #3
Devin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes