New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2010, 08:57 PM   #11
bgraham
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

hibbleton-

i feel like oak chips soaked in bourbon aren't going to give you the taste you're after. i say this because bourbon is aged in charred oak barrels which is what the kentucky ale is in turn aged in.

i read about a lot of people trying to get a bourbon taste and getting a really aggresive oak taste like you mention and i feel like that is why.

i have no experience oaking beer myself, but i feel like if you were to get oak cubes and not chips and torch them with a propane torch or something and then soak them in bourbon you would get a much more realistic taste.

i don't think you want uncharred oak to ever touch your beer (or your bourbon) at all.

Cheers,
Ben

Last edited by bgraham; 10-23-2010 at 10:08 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2010, 04:48 AM   #12
ChandlerBang
Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I am drinking a bottle right now. I fell in love with this beer when I got it on tap at a restaurant in Dayton, OH. Best. Thing. Ever. I would really like to know how this turns out. I do like the regular Kentucky Ale as well. And I'm a fan of anything bourbon. Sooooo, you do the math.

Can you get it anywhere around Youngstown? If not, when you make it down to Columbus or Dayton I'll point you in the right direction.

But the damn Ohio taxes, stuff ain't cheap.

BTW, I'm adding this to my 'planned' list right now.

Old 10-30-2010, 05:48 PM   #13
bgraham
Recipes 

ha yeah, we have a great beer place that has this on draft right now. it's called vintage estates wine and beer and they have a monster selection and some really awesome stuff on draft all the time.

if you're ever in youngstown you should stop there.

Cheers,
Ben

Old 10-31-2010, 02:23 AM   #14