Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > I almost gave up brewing.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2010, 01:29 AM   #1
BeerWars
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default I almost gave up brewing.

I started brewing over the summer after first watching Beer Wars and then reading through Homebrewing for Dummies. I always drank BMC's (including what I thought was a craft beer Blue Moon).

Wanting to brew what I was accustomed to, my first batch was an all-grain Miller Lite clone using a self-modified version of DeathBrewers method (should have followed to a T). I mashed WAY too high, took forever to sparge. The final result was drinkable if you don't mind cringing a little with the aftertaste.

I tried the same recipe again with my same modified method thinking the drinkability problems were caused by the high mash temps. This time the beer turned out considerably better; but still not something I would ever buy.

I kind of felt defeated. I had invested all of this money, hours researching / brewing, and a couple months of waiting and all I had for my effort was beer that substandard. My friends would drink it (and tell me it was decent); but it was embarrassing that something I put so much time and effort into was subpar. Some people cant bake, I figured I just couldn't brew.

Then I decided to take a step back and make an Extract batch - Deception Creme Stout. I brewed and bottled, and while I was waiting for it to carb / condition I bought some Young's Double Chocolate Stout which was really good. You could imagine the joy I felt when I cracked my first bottle of Deception and it was BETTER than Young's! I was so proud to serve it to my buddies and when I kick one back it feels so good that I made something that tastes so great.