Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > How snobby

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 12:54 PM   #211
phenry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 115 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 21

I'm not ashamed to enjoy big corporation beer. Just like I'm not ashamed to listen to Ke$ha, enjoy Michael Bay's Transformers, or agree with Airborneguy that Lime-a-Rita is pretty awesome.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2013, 01:05 PM   #212
hairy
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

After I started brewing for a while, I kinda avoided all commercial pale lagers like the plague. I was like.... "I can make better beer than these guys. wtf, why should I buy these commercial big boys?"

After a few years of brewing and commercial pale lager bashing, my stance has softened somewhat. I have actually came to realise that the beers are out there because people enjoyed them and wanted them. Who are I to say that these big boys are destroying beer when this is essentially what the masses wanted?

More importantly though, homebrewers pride themselves for making good tasting beer and I still think that in terms of flavor, any homebrewer worth their salt will make a superior beer than the MBC big boys.

However, consider this: pale lager is also technically a good beer. It is a well conceived product. Thin body, clean, flavorless, flawless and low cost. Be honest with ourselves on this. Though none of us find the need to emulate these beers, how many of us can really produce these flavorless/flawless wonders in our kitchen? One small mistake and it sticks out like a sore thumb. It is no easy task. These big boys brewers have skill, no doubt about it.

Pale lager have their place in the world of beers but I find their dominance a little disturbing. But it is a free market out there. They can't survive to be becomes this big if they aren't doing something right.