Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > how to put together an event.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
RobbyBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default how to put together an event.

I would really like to put together a small competition, tasting event to raise money for charity, and promote home brewing.
I've never done it before and would like to start a discussion about all the things that go into something like this.
Any info is helpful.
I am in West Chester, PA.

I want to raise money for the aspca.
I'm going to visit my LHS to see if he wants in.... But other than that I'm starting from scratch.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
Getzinator
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 15

You should check out these guys
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f217/che...est-ii-325524/
Chester Country isn't far away from you, and they've got a leg up on what it takes to get it all started.

My spoon is TOO big.

Old 06-29-2012, 06:38 PM   #3
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 984 Times on 692 Posts
Likes Given: 2053

Here's a writeup on what we did for a small campus ministry http://www.singingboysbrewing.com/Th...arty-for-agape If you've got any questions, let me know.

I think combining a competition and a tasting could present some problems for you. A competition needs BJCP certified judges, I think, and is a ton of work. The tasting, while also a lot of work, is much more manageable.

Good luck and ask if you have any questions!

Old 06-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #4
RobbyBeer
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Getzinator
You should check out these guys
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f217/che...est-ii-325524/