Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > How much Diacetyl is Dangerous?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2012, 06:38 PM   #11
IffyG
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 20

I am a scientist and I don't worry about things like this in the slightest. Everything causes cancer... everything is killing you... in all honesty, the alcohol in your beer is a greater cause of concern than the diacetyl.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 07:09 PM   #12
Denny
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 412 Times on 313 Posts
Likes Given: 473

As far as I can tell, it's the inhaled powder, as much or more than the diacetyl itself, that's the problem.

Life begins at 60....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

http://www.experimentalbrew.com - the website for the book "Experimental Homebrewing"...coming Nov. 2014

Old 09-22-2012, 12:12 PM   #13
HeavyKettleBrewing
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by IffyG
I am a scientist and I don't worry about things like this in the slightest. Everything causes cancer... everything is killing you... in all honesty, the alcohol in your beer is a greater cause of concern than the diacetyl.
You're killing me iffy! If it is not alzheimers it is cirrhosis (sp). You are correct, I should be more concerned with the alcohol. To support my initial comments, I can measure ABV and even my consumption. I do not have the means to measure diacetyl or even identify it by taste. I will research this further as I would rather minimize the amounts and brew cleaner beer.

Old 09-22-2012, 12:23 PM   #14
HeavyKettleBrewing
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny
As far as I can tell, it's the inhaled powder, as much or more than the diacetyl itself, that's the problem.