New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Hopslam clone

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2010, 04:43 AM   #1
Jbbloom1989
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Hopslam clone

Ok, so I am going to try and to a clone of hopslam. I have been hopping around different styles and just need a beer that is hoppy and amazing, so I am hoping that I can either reproduce this beer or possibly make my own version. My current recipe is this:

16 lb two row
1.5 lb munich
1.5 lb honey
1 lb carmel munich

2 oz centennial 60 min
1 oz cascade 60 min
1 oz cascade 30 min
2 oz amarillo 5 min-flameout
1 oz simcoe 5 min-flameout
3 oz simcoe dry hop

wyeast 1056 american ale

single step infusion at 147 for 90 min

I hope this is enough dry hopping/ bittering. I really have not used these hope very much because I'm pretty new at homebrewing. I have done a lot of research on this style and type of beer, but I am hoping my recipe is spot on. I have no idea of fermentation temp. and I dont know what temp to pitch at either. So here is what id like to ask...

Does my recipe look good?
Is my hopping substantial? (I was to impart more powerful aroma and hop essance rather than unrestricted bitterness)
How much yeast should I pitch as well as should I pitch a starter?
What temp should I pitch at?
What fermentation temp?
How long to ferment/when to transfer to secondary?
Secondary for 2 weeks?
Bottling temp/temp for bottles to stay at?

Well I know I sound somewhat inexperienced, but I am and I really want to learn. For a beer like this being close to 10% abv I dont want to waste the money on all that grain for no reason. I am a poor college student, so I want to make sure I dont waste my money.

Thanks for any input on this beer!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2010, 06:53 PM   #2
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 1658 Times on 1204 Posts
Likes Given: 941