Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > homebrew taste........(where does it come from!)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2012, 05:43 PM   #11
malt20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I drink all different types of beer from dogfish head 60 or 90 to anderson valley, russian river pliney. rougue, greenflash, firestone, sierra, palma louca, stella, all types of belgian beer and on and on. As a bar manager i get to order and try pretty much every type of beer. Plus the local pubs and local breweries.
I take everything as it comes when i brew, never rushing. Usually take 6 hours give or take from start to finish (cleaning included) for my all grain setup. I use a 10 gallon (cylinder cooler) igloo cooler system for mashing and usually do 6 gallon batches so i get 5g by the end of it all. I use an imersion chiller but i feel it takes longer then it should to cool. Like 45 minutes usually. I ferment in buckets, secondary in carboys and use a chest freezer with a johnson thermostat to control the temp. I do 2000 ml starters and oxygenate by high pooring into fermentation bucket. p.s. my fermentations take off like crazy now with the starter so i know its not a lack of yeast or oxygen. (i think.....)
How do you filter the beer? I use whirlfloc tabs to clear it up btw. Cold crash to filter or filter with something else after the wort is cool. Will this really change the taste for the better???

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2012, 05:54 PM   #12
abarhan
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by malt20 View Post