Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > homebrew & hangovers-the science

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2007, 06:32 PM   #11
paranode
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Alcohol deprives your body of water because it is a diuretic. Replenishing the water and any lost vitamins will go a long way in preventing hangovers.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2007, 07:49 PM   #12
McCall St. Brewer
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

What I found was that drinking a big glass of water before bed and taking a couple of headache pills (aspirin, aceteminofen, ibuprofen-- it didn't matter which) generally worked wonders.

Old 04-28-2007, 01:58 AM   #13
beerfan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

I have always thought that the preservatives in beer helped cause my hangovers. Since I started brewing they have gone away by about 90%. On occasion when I do over indulge my stomach can still go whacky but the headaches are very mild if any.

Old 04-28-2007, 01:58 PM   #14
HenryHill
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 6

In 'Scent of a Women', Pacino says that dehydration is the root cause of hangovers.

A diuretic will leach away electrolytes (and vitamins) as well as water. Seems gatorade or equivalent and a Centrum or something would be the best preventative/cure.

Stuff I can suggest that YOU do, but then I'm lazy, and just suffer, myself....

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
This is HBT of course. Normal Thread that goes every direction but the one intended. This forum should be scientific proof the beer causes ADD

Old 04-30-2007, 03:17 AM   #15
tubbfan
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by McCall St. Brewer