Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Home Brew supply store potential???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2009, 06:01 PM   #1
GIusedtoBe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Home Brew supply store potential???

My background is in sales and not retail so i was wondering if anybody knew what kind of potential income an HBS store could produce in a medium sized town. I know there are a gazillion variables but we only have one HBS locally and they are nice guys but they don't advertise at all, are mostly knowledgeable about wine, keep bankers hours, and have a VERY limited supply.

Everytime I go in there, there are customers in there but these guys don't do anything to promote the hobby that I can see. I've asked about homebrew clubs around and they say there was one but they don't have a number or contact info. I would think the local HBS would be the mecca of a HB club???I knew more about brewing inside of 2 months of starting than these guys.

My thought is that a bigger and better HBS could do well here but like I said, I have no retail experience. Do you think HBS type "do it yourself" stores would do well in a recession? I would think that a good HBS would obviously appeal to beer snobs like us but also to the people that just want to brew some cheap swill.

What do you guys think?

Any feedback would be appreciated.
Al

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2009, 06:05 PM   #2
Displaced MassHole
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/shou...ly-shop-79172/

It's been brought up before, but if you really want to do it.....then do it! I think you might have a hard time competing with the big online stores though. If it werent for shipping prices and having to wait for products to be delivered I would probably only shop online.

Old 01-15-2009, 06:13 PM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png