Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Beer Discussion (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/)
-   -   Here goes ... need opinions on types of beer for virgin palate (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/here-goes-need-opinions-types-beer-virgin-palate-365475/)

Kialya 11-04-2012 05:07 PM

Here goes ... need opinions on types of beer for virgin palate
 
As the thread title states: I am married and brew mainly for my husband's enjoyment. I would actually like to start drinking/tasting beer for myself too however ....

Every beer I have ever tried tastes ... well, like .. beer? To say I am not crazy about the taste is mild to say the least. Every one I have tried makes my face screw up like an old woman. The last time I tried a sampler of craft beer styles was 2 months ago at BJ's and the blondes were barely acceptable(still did not take more then one drink of each) and the darker styles undrinkable period. My local home brew shop owner says I just have not found the right beer yet. So .... any ideas where to start? I have a sensitive palate apparently. (Like my food mildy spiced, etc.)

The only beer I ever remember finishing an entire glass of was literally 20 years ago in Germany; it was a Dunkelweizen. Even then, I remember having to force most of it down. I feel pathetic just posting this but not sure whom else would have the knowledge where to begin. :o

huntingohio 11-04-2012 05:14 PM

What I highly suggest is a lightly hopped beer, I share in your pain that I think the bitterness in a ton of craft beers is gut churning.
I highly suggest the great divide samurai and yeti. They are both not quite so bitter.

I also have a fondness for mildly hopped irish reds.

The bitterness in even lighly hopped beer takes some getting used to, kind of like unsweetened green tea.

Kialya 11-04-2012 05:15 PM

Oddly enough I actually drink my tea black and unsweetened ..

igotsand 11-04-2012 05:22 PM

Try a hef...
It's lightly hopped and its mostly wheat...
My wife loves my hef's...
Igotsand

Gameface 11-04-2012 05:22 PM

Have you tried various wheat beers? Fruity wheat beers?

OldWorld 11-04-2012 05:22 PM

Today's American craft beers are often overly alcoholic and hopped. I personally think American craft beer is getting carried away with this concept. I can only make guesses based on your symptoms.

You are saying your face screws up...Is that a puckering from the bitterness? The beer taste you describe sounds like you don't like what craft brewers are doing. I call it hop tea...double IPAs, pale ales, and dark hopped up garbage.

BJ's is a commercial operation that makes lackluster, boring ales. Try a bottle of Gouden Carolus. Now commercial brewery in America has been able to replicate a solitary semblance of belgium. They try but fail.

Kialya 11-04-2012 05:23 PM

What 'style' of beer is the Samurai and Yeti?

Kialya 11-04-2012 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gameface (Post 4557930)
Have you tried various wheat beers? Fruity wheat beers?

Nope. Open to try though.

huntingohio 11-04-2012 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kialya (Post 4557936)
What 'style' of beer is the Samurai and Yeti?

samurai is a unfiltered rice and malt beer, it has a great taste mouthfeel and is easily drinkable
yeti is a stout, its one of the few that i dont find to god awful bitter, and pretty tasty to boot

Kialya 11-04-2012 05:29 PM

Making a list.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.