Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Help! What type of brewing system should I build?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
michiganjoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help! What type of brewing system should I build?

I want to step up to all grain brewing and I would like some advice as to what type of system I should build. I am not a rocket scientist but I will have help from a few engineer friends. Should I build a RIMS? 1,2, or 3 tier?

I am sure I want to retrofit kegs and brew 10 gallon batches. Money is always a factor but I to build something that I will be proud to own and will make good beer. I am also fairly certain I want to avoid using wood in my build.

Thoughts??? I appreciate them!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 06:29 PM   #2
Lucky_Chicken
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 4

not sure about your non wood comment but... we need lots more information on what you want to answer the question. Some people will say xxxxxx is the best but it is stupid to think one is better than another for everyone. its all a preference, roll through the DIY section and/ or the electric section, you will find lots of ideas and people will tell you what they like and dont like about their own setups!

FirstStateBrewer Likes This 
Old 02-24-2012, 07:21 PM   #3
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 2122 Times on 1522 Posts
Likes Given: 1165

There are benefits to any system and it's mostly just a personal choice.

My plan is to build either a HERMS or RIMS electric system. I started out planning a RIMS system because it is so similar to the heat devices we use on plastic injection molds, but I'm leaning more towards a HERMS system with copper coil in the HLT now.