New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Help a beginner!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2004, 06:03 PM   #1
bluefoot53
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help a beginner!

hey all, i just ordered this:

http://www.leylandhomebrew.com/item1033.htm

it should be here fairly soon, has anyone used it before and is it going to be any good? i ordered the lager beer kit. will this have any taste to it or do i need to add something? does anyone have any tips for me as i have never done this before and would like to make a good batch.

p.s. i really have no idea what im doing so advice would be good, quick advice would be even better cos im pretty keen and i can see myself just ripping the packaging open and trying it, which will probably just make bad beer!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2004, 09:29 PM   #2
joe
Recipes 

1. Buy "The New Complete Joy of Home Brewing" by Charlie Papazian
2. Read the first 40 pages
3. Make beer.

Old 11-25-2004, 09:13 AM   #3
Roy Boy

Recipes 

The beer kit's normally just a tin, and you put 1kg (~2 pounds?) of sugar with that. As long as you're completely obsessive about keeping everything clean it should taste great! The general method is....bung everything in a big tub and seal it air tight.

After cleaning everything real nice I put the contents of the tin in the fermenter, dissolve any sugars in ~4L hot water, put that in the fermenter and stir until its all pretty dissolved, then just fill it up with cold water and add the yeast. It's so easy! When I first started it was kind of daunting, after 2-3 brews its just...meh, lets make some BEER!

Old 11-25-2004, 09:20 AM   #4
Roy Boy

Recipes 

That spoon in the pic looks kinda hard to clean

But yeah pretty much any homebrew book will tell you the same stuff.

Old 11-30-2004, 10:37 PM   #5
The Professor

Recipes