Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Heady Topper

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
Liebz15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Heady Topper

Does anyone know what hop produces that amazing pineapple flavor in Heady Topper? I have read that it is Simcoe hops though I have never been able to make a Simcoe brew so fruity. I have never used Citra before and read that it does impart a pineapple flavor. I’d love to make a brew similar to this some day!

Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2012, 07:20 PM   #2
thisgoestoeleven
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I have nothing else to contribute to this thread other than that Heady Topper is incredible, and I'm also curious about the hops.

Old 03-05-2012, 07:34 PM   #3
Liebz15
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisgoestoeleven View Post
I have nothing else to contribute to this thread other than that Heady Topper is incredible, and I'm also curious about the hops.
Darn! I got so excited when I saw a reply...thinking that someone knew the answer I seeked. Still, it's good to see others (and there are many) share this liking and curiousity. Hopefully we will be enlightened soon!

Old 03-05-2012, 08:15 PM   #4
IffyG
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 20

I doubt its Simcoe as I use it heavily and have never picked up anything remotely related to pineapple. Maybe it's Citra, that screams tropical fruits to me.

Old 03-05-2012, 08:32 PM   #5
I-Hop
Recipes 

I'd love to see a Heady Topper clone recipe! That is some good stuff, but tough to get in the Boston area. I've got a friend that goes up to VT just to get some and he occasionally brings me back some. I hear it will be available around here soon and cant wait!

Once it hits your lips, it's so good! -Frank the Tank

Old 03-05-2012, 10:14 PM   #6
geer537
I'm a member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes