Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > General question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2011, 01:10 AM   #1
Willbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Monroe, Georgia
Posts: 84
Default General question

What would the purpose be for 2 lbs light dme in a 9.5 lb all grain grain porter

__________________
Willbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:13 AM   #2
neovox
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
neovox's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 862
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

None that I can think of unless you're trying to make up or lower than expected gravity.

__________________
neovox is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:15 AM   #3
ozzy1038
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 387
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I would guess to raise your OG in order to have a higher ABV.

__________________

_______________________________________________
On Deck: Cream Ale and Blue Moon clone for MIL

Primary: Hopped Up Brown

Bottled: Litehaus Wheat, Orange APA, Rauchbier, Willy's Cream Stout

Kegged: Tank 7 Clone renamed "Le Ferme" (dryhopped cascade, sorachi), Caramel Amber Ale, Trout Bum APA, 3 Dogs APA


Gallons Brewed Since June: 53.5
_______________________________________________
I seriously cannot imagine a day or life without beer!

ozzy1038 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:15 AM   #4
dmcoates
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: soldotna, alaska
Posts: 150
Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts

Default

The only reason i can think of is not have the room to mash 13lbs of grain in the mash tun. Maybe it was brewed using brew in a bag tech.

__________________
dmcoates is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:18 AM   #5
neovox
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
neovox's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 862
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcoates View Post
The only reason i can think of is not have the room to mash 13lbs of grain in the mash tun. Maybe it was brewed using brew in a bag tech.
Good thought. Very likely.
__________________
neovox is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:21 AM   #6
dmcoates
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: soldotna, alaska
Posts: 150
Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neovox View Post
Good thought. Very likely.
I only know casue thats what i have to do when brewing 10gal batchs of IPA in my 10gal mash tun.
__________________
dmcoates is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 01:33 AM   #7
Willbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Monroe, Georgia
Posts: 84
Default

Well damn i shouldve went with another full grain what would be a good alternative...anything?

__________________
Willbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 10:57 AM   #8
32Brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Marcos, Texas
Posts: 42
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

i do what a few have called (and I like) "mostly mash." I do stove top batches, and the pot I use for an MT doesn't hold enough gsin for the higher abv beers. So, i add a couple of pounds of DME/LME to the boil to bring the gravity inline for a recipe.

__________________
32Brew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2011, 02:00 PM   #9
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 24,438
Liked 2449 Times on 1726 Posts
Likes Given: 1404

Default

What's wrong with adding 2 lbs of extract? It's not very much relative to the amount of grain being used...

If you don't want to use extract, and you have room in your tun for the grain needed, just substitute more grain for the extract.

__________________
Homercidal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS