Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Force carbing at room temp

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
PhreeBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Force carbing at room temp

Ok, I'm new to kegging and I have a question about force carbing.

I will be conditioning the kegs in my fermentation chamber for 2-3 weeks at 65 degrees. According to the charts, i should use 25-30 lbs. of CO2 to get it to the proper carbonation (2-2.5ish).

But what happens after two weeks when I put the kegs in the kegerator and drop the temp to around 40? Should I drop the pressure to around the recommended 12ish lbs for that temp? When I fill the keg to 25-30lbs, should I just disconnect the tank? Do I have to add more CO2 eventually? I just don't want over/under carbonated beer, thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 10:47 PM   #2
tre9er
Recipes 

Liked 233 Times on 197 Posts
Likes Given: 35

I would leave the gas on them, personally. Yes, when chilling the kegs you'll want to lower the pressure to serving.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekippen View Post
Open log Fermenting and gas-can secondary?? I am planning my next brew right now!!

Old 07-16-2012, 10:51 PM   #3
PhreeBeer
Recipes 

So, is there really any point in getting the PSI up to 25-30 for a couple weeks if you're only going to lower it when you chill it? It seems like I should just leave it at 10-12 to save gas.

Old 07-16-2012, 10:53 PM   #4
tre9er
Recipes 

Liked 233 Times on 197 Posts
Likes Given: 35

it will take twice as long at 10-12psi. Warm temps take longer to absorb CO2. You're not wasting that much gas as the headspace is minimal in a mostly-full keg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davekippen View Post
Open log Fermenting and gas-can secondary?? I am planning my next brew right now!!

Old 07-16-2012, 10:58 PM   #5
PhreeBeer