Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > First BJCP competition

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2013, 07:54 PM   #31
Phunhog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 110 Posts
Likes Given: 69

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiptasia View Post
I find the BJCP judging to be highly subjective. I had a tripel rank a 42 in the Best Florida Beer championship and not make it past the first round, and have that same beer given a 34 in a local club comp and medal silver.
I am studying for the BJCP tasting exam and you are exactly right! There are some absolute faults but many of them are very subjective. I had a Scottish 70 that got the second highest overall score in a local score. It went to the Best of Show round and placed 6th overall. I am starting to get to a place that comps are a great ego boost. Any beer over 35 could be a winning beer...just depends on the comp.

Check out my nanobrewery!
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Two...02323289804018

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2013, 01:21 PM   #32
Braufessor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 425 Times on 300 Posts
Likes Given: 339

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiptasia View Post
I find the BJCP judging to be highly subjective.
I think there is some obvious truth to this - individuals have their own preferences, perspectives and levels of expertise.