Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > First AG with new pot

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2012, 09:11 PM   #11
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Feel free to modify the BIAB process to match your equipment.
For example, you can heat 6-7 gallons to strike temp for the mash and top off for the boil after the mash. In my fist couple BIAB batches I am only loosing .5-.75 gallons of water to grain absorption w/ 10-12 lb grain bill. If you don't squeeze the bag, then you will lose more water.

Also it is much easier to top off before the boil then it is boil off an extra gallon or 2 of water.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2012, 09:43 PM   #12
ColoHox
Compulsive Hand Washer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 116 Posts
Likes Given: 163

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cider123 View Post
I have a biology degree and have taught all levels of high school biology. Fermentation was merely a process after glycolysis (Poor wee-beasties, they gotta get their NAD+ back somehow) until I got into brewing. Now it's so much more interesting.
Not to get too off topic or anything, but I credit my high school biology teacher with getting me into science. He made all the topics so accessible and relatable.

Glad brew day went well. As RM-MN said, the low efficiency probably had to do with your crush. Back to your original question...were you able to hold a steady mash temp and where did you brew?

Bacteria are the only culture some people have.

Old 12-27-2012, 02:13 AM   #13
Cider123
Recipes 

Liked 201 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 1