Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > fermenting / airlock / noob question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2011, 06:36 AM   #1
Diaperload
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default fermenting / airlock / noob question

I'm a noob brewer currently watching my 3rd batch (downtown brown ale clone) do its thing. I boiled it up last night and it is in the bucket with a "S" shaped airlock in place. The airlock is filled with a star san solution.

The yeast is doing its thing. Lots of bubbles, and it's coming out of the airlock. My first batch did this a tiny bit but this batch seems like its more. I've already changed the solution in the airlock 3 times now.

I remember reading about a blow off tube. Is this the instance when you use that? What is it exactly? I'm guessing a clear plastic flexible tube sticking out of my fermentation bucket and the other end in some other container. Is there more to it? Does it have to be sealed somehow?

Maybe I could just use my autosiphon tube and have it run off to another bucket.

"I'm not saying let's go kill all the stupid people...I'm just saying let's remove all the warning labels and let the problem sort itself out."

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2011, 06:42 AM   #2
rgontasz
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 6

You got it! Sanitize your siphon tubing (should fit in the air lock hole) and put the other end in a bottle, jar, jug, anything you got filled w. sanitizer. Find something to keep the tubing submerged in the sanitizer and your good to go! Glad to hear you have a healthy fermentation going! Brew on!!!

Old 08-08-2011, 06:49 AM   #3
GodsStepBrother
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 12