Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Extremely low gravity beers - anyone has experience brewing them ?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2011, 08:20 PM   #11
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 221 Times on 193 Posts
Likes Given: 374

28? holy man.

smallest beer i've made was a 1.033 bitter. it was solid.

also, recession mild turned into barleywine made me laugh.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2011, 10:22 PM   #12
jfr1111
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I tend to either like sessionable offerings (4% and less) or big, ridiculous beers like barleywines and RIS as a treat. No in between 1.028 was probably the lowest gravity I saw for a 4d while looking through the Shut up about Barclay Perkins! blog. I went all malt, instead of choosing to reproduce the adjunct laden beers of that period, so it probably will have a lot more mouthfeel and flavour than that 4d ale for the same gravity though.

The only thing I'm worried is tannin extraction due to the very, very low starting gravity and the high volume of sparge water. I might just mash very thin to alleviate that. Not sure.

Old 01-11-2011, 10:29 PM   #13
Shooter
Almaigan Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 231 Times on 179 Posts
Likes Given: 38