Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Evaluating Homebrew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 03:23 PM   #1
Engibeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Evaluating Homebrew

I'm new here to the forum, and although I'm sure this has been touched upon, it's not an easy topic to search for. I'm just getting into homebrewing, I have two batches still in primaries and I have a third brew planned for next weekend. In the meantime, I'm getting excited at the proposition of opening and evaluating each of the batches. This includes opening some before they've fully matured to better understand how each progresses and understanding in the future when beers may just need more conditioning.

The question I have, is there a generally recommended evaluation means? I know beeradvocate has some recommendations on looking, smelling, and tasting, but I want to be sure I have a somewhat repeatable procedure for evaluating and comparing beers.

I've been drinking all sorts of quality beers for years, but I'm not sure I have the ability to pick up some of the nuances that may be affecting my beers, positively or negatively.

Am I overthinking this?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2013, 03:32 PM   #2
Jayhem
Recipes 

Liked 261 Times on 211 Posts
Likes Given: 1184

We the brewers are the most critical of our own beers! Some of the beers I have made that I felt were "OK" got raves of praise from other beer lovers I shared them with.