The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Ethical/moral dilemma on "beer brewing research grant"

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2011, 11:23 PM   #1
msa8967
mickaweapon
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 75

Default Ethical/moral dilemma on "beer brewing research grant"

I have been brewing for just over two years now and made the jump to all grain 16+ months ago. In the last year I have started kegging and moving into 8-10 gallon size batches. For a recipe/style that many of my friends like I usually will keg 1/2 and bottle 1/2 of an 8-10 gallon brew session and give all of the bottles away. I like to do this because it gives me the opportunity to receive feedback from non-brewers that do enjoy home brew and motivates me to challenge myself with trying different styles including some that I don't care much for but my swmbo and select friends love.

All of the beer I have given away has either been treated as a gift or a thankyou to friends that have helped me and my wife move and adjust to having our first child. (We are in our early 40's and have been married just two years.) I never expected anything in return for the beer I enjoy sharing except that people return the bottles to me (hopefully w/o mold or baby mice but that happens).

Here is the dilemma: One couple that I have probably given 6-8 cases of beer to in the last two years decided to give me a $200 check as a grant to continue to buy materials for further research in my brewing hobby. While I greatly appreciate the gesture, I am not certain that I could really accept this w/o breaking or bending some kind of law. I am still well under the limit of producing 200 gallons per resisdent adult per year and do not want to set any future expectation or break any law. They consider this to be a one time gift but I have read on the forum that this is can be a very gray area.