Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Entered a beer at the County Fair

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2011, 06:08 PM   #1
tonkota
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Entered a beer at the County Fair

I've been brewing for about three years, made some good beer, and a couple great beers and one really crappy beer that I can't drink and I can't seem to bring myself to pour out.

Anyway, I made a beer, Huckleberry Kolsh that I feel turned out this time. This is my second try with huckleberries, I fixed a lot of the issues I had with the first batch. The huckleberry flavor is light, the color is light purple and it smells good, bright white head. No wine flavors like I had in the first try.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/6616332...in/photostream

I don't know what to expect. How do they judge a beer?

Arron - quality over quantity beer drinker

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2011, 06:37 PM   #2
bknifefight
Recipes 

Liked 95 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Did you enter it as a Kolsch or a Fruit beer? The style it is entered under can make a world of difference. They will judge based on the BJCP guidelines (unless otherwise stated) and the fruit is out of style for a Kolsch.

Old 08-09-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
tonkota
Recipes 

I entered it as a fruit beer. If I had entered it as a Kolsh, some poor judge might have a heart attack and call Germany on me

http://www.spokanecounty.org/Fair/SI...ons/beer11.pdf

I'm super excited, I don't know what to expect at all. I plan on going to the fair the first day to see how it fares.

Old 08-09-2011, 06:58 PM   #4
KFH
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

This gives me a good idea...

I'll be entering my Hellfire Porter and Succubus Dunkelweizen this year, along with some of my LPR Apfelwien (depending on how this current recipe turns out). I might try to squeeze in one more beer, but I doubt I'd have enough time.

Infernal Brewing