Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Easiest type of beer to brew for your first batch

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2011, 06:20 PM   #1
Webs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Easiest type of beer to brew for your first batch

I am new to home brewing and I just recently bought a beginners home brewing kit. I was wondering what would be the easiest/best type of beer to brew for my first batch? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 06:24 PM   #2
logan3825
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 6

An ale in the 1.040-1.055 SG range. No dry hopping or anything else added after the boil. Other than that brew what you like.

Old 02-08-2011, 06:46 PM   #3
NorCalAngler
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 16

What do you like? A pale ale will be easy to brew and the hops will mask common flaws. Many people try to make a really light, low bitterness ale for their first beer, but that is one of the hardest styles to get right. I agree with the suggestion to stay away from dry hopping for the first beer, but I disagree with boil additions. If you can work a timer then multiple boil hop additions aren't difficult.

Old 02-08-2011, 06:49 PM   #4
GuldTuborg
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 415 Times on 300 Posts
Likes Given: 232

Porter is a pretty forgiving style to brew, if you like those. I'm not going to claim it's easy to make a great one, but you almost have to try to make a really bad one.

Don't worry, be hoppy.

Old 02-08-2011, 06:57 PM   #5
starrfish
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 25

My first years ago was a brown ale. I still brew brown ales and milds on a regular basis, they finish quick and are nice to drink young. They also come in many types so style of brown ales can vary...