Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Dorm brewing troubles

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
pepper23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Dorm brewing troubles

So, I've been brewing using the Brew House "All-Grain" kits for a few months now and last night I just bottled my second batch (a cream ale). While my first batch was made off-campus in a house, I am living in a dorm on campus for the summer. I checked the residence contract and it is against the rules to
a) provide alcohol to minors/drink underaged
b) have a keg in residence
c) play drinking games

So last night the people down the hall were using my closet door as a beer-pong table so I had to come and get it when they got caught. When my don walked me back to my room with my door, she noticed my glass carboy sitting on the floor and asked me if it was a keg.

I said no, and explained that it was a fermentation vessel. She says, "I'm pretty sure you're not allowed to do this. Isn't it illegal?" and I had to explain to her, "no, it's perfectly legal to brew your own beer."

While I disagree with the rules banning drinking games and kegs for people who are of age, I follow those rules (generally). They don't want people having keggers in their dorm rooms, which is understandable. I just feel like my don doesn't know the difference between a keg and a carboy. She came by later last night to let me know that she wrote up a report about it and submitted it to the Residence Life Coordinator.

As far as I can tell, I haven't done anything wrong. I keep the smell under control, clean up my mess, follow sanitation procedures, and don't distill or sell this beer. I'll be kinda mad if they try to tell me I'm not allowed to brew seeing as it was never mentioned in the residence contract (the rules are quite extensive) and I am bothering NOBODY.