New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Don't dump your bad brew!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2011, 04:06 PM   #1
BellAub
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Likes Given: 8

Default Don't dump your bad brew!

I started brewing beer almost a year ago and in that time I have made three bad batches of beer. One of them I did dump and I just thought what a big waste of time. Then I heard that you could age out any off flavors. So I bottled the other bad batch any way and tasted a bottle every month to see if there was any change in the taste. After tasting one of the many disappointing bottles I decided, instead of poring this sad creation down the drain, I will try and give it a new purpose. I poured it in a pot with some onions, green peppers, garlic, and brats. Snap! That was the best brats ever. I did the same recipe for some friends and they confirmed that I did not have bias taste buds. I have since used my Ridgecrest crud in various marinades with awesome results. I just tasted my first all grain attempt and I would be embarrassed to give a bottle to the wineno on the corner. But, I can’t wait taste it injected in a pork roast or used as a brine with smoked turkey.
I will never dump a bad batch again.
Proust

Primary:Belgian Triple
Secondary:None yet
Bottled: Ridgecrest Crud (My first beer) Triple SB, Farm House Saison, Home bored Brew
Kegged: None yet
On Tap:Triple SB, Farm House Saison, Home bored Brew

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2011, 04:18 PM   #2
jfr1111
Recipes 

Liked 52 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BellAub View Post