Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Developing my palate, need help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 11:16 PM   #1
JohnnySardonic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default Developing my palate, need help

I'm still new to home brewing (20 batches), but my palate has slowly become "better" for lack of a "better" word. However, as a longtime BMC drinker who only began drinking craft beers in the last couple years, I can't pinpoint specific aromas and tastes.

I remember reading on HBT that a good way to develop one's palate is to blindfold yourself and smell things that are common aromas: pine, grapefruit, etc. I want to do this, just haven't collected the ingredients to do so. However, my question is more specific. I have really been enjoying New Dogtown lately. The aroma I get from it is the same (I think) that I pick up from Stone's IPA. The only way I can describe it with my limited knowledge is that it smells like I would imagine hop pellets would smell like if I mashed them up and stuck them in my nose.

I don't get this sensation from every APA or IPA, but those two beers I do. Now that I've typed this all out, I realize everyone has a different palate. But just in case, what am I smelling? Is it centennial that produces that aroma (I have never used it in my own brews)? Is that the "resin" aroma that people describe? Come to think of it, I'm not sure I even know what grapefruit smells like. Wow, I really am still new to this

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but "General Beer Discussion" seemed appropriate. I also apologize if this is stickied somewhere that I didn't see.

Maybe this weekend I should grab a grapefruit, a bunch of citrus, flowers, pine needles, and the like and have SWMBO test me while I'm blind folded.

Thanks for any input. Cheers