Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Cost of entering homebrew comps

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2011, 11:50 PM   #1
Phunhog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 140 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 67

Default Cost of entering homebrew comps

Hey now,
I have been brewing for a few years now and have entered some competitions. What has always held me back from entering more though is the cost. I think the member cost for the NHC was something 9 dollars a beer. I had 4 beers I wanted to enter plus I had to ship them. It was going to be close to 50 dollars!! That is the cost for me to make 15 gallons of beer
So I guess my question is...why do comps cost so much per entry? I know everybody involved are volunteers. I can't imagine renting a church hall or space at a brewery is very expensive. Any thoughts on why I have to pay so much for a volunteer to taste/critique my beer? I think I would rather just send bottles to HBT's for feedback.

Check out my nanobrewery!
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Two-Trees-Brewing-Co/102323289804018

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 11:56 PM   #2
k47k
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I think most competitions are fundraisers for the club putting on the comp.

Old 04-04-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
carnevoodoo
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

You're paying for venue, refrigerator space, meals for the judges, organizational costs, materials costs... Getting the entries together to run a comp, the logistics, and all that aren't anywhere near free.

Old 04-04-2011, 11:58 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4450 Times on 3239 Posts
Likes Given: 866

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phunhog View Post
Hey now,