Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Cold Crash

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2010, 06:41 PM   #1
Mateo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Cold Crash

I am planning on cold crashing my Kolsch this week and was worried about suck-up from the air lock.

What do you all do to prevent this?

m.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 07:06 PM   #2
Shepherd5
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I have questions regarding this. I assume you are pitching your yeast first. Down to what temperature do you cold crash in this situation? And, At what temperature will you ferment it?

Can you just cover the end with a cloth or something like that until it reaches your target cold crash temperature, then apply the air-lock? I would think that the risk of contamination would be minimal.

Forgive my questions, but I am very new to this.

Last edited by Shepherd5; 04-19-2010 at 07:09 PM.

Old 04-19-2010, 07:09 PM   #3
goose1873
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I find I only have a problem with 3-piece airlocks. the S-shape slightly under-filled with sarstan/vodka (just incase in goes in) never cause me a problem.

You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer.
----Frank Zappa

Old 04-19-2010, 07:10 PM   #4
goose1873
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shepherd5 View Post
I have questions regarding this. I assume you are pitching your yeast first. Down to what temperature do you cold crash in this situation? And, At what temperature will you ferment it?

Can you just cover the end with a cloth or something like that until it reaches your target cold crash temperature, then apply the air-lock? I would think that the risk of contamination would be minimal.

Forgive my questions, but I am very new to this.