Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Brewing Class

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2013, 11:40 PM   #1
nashvillerider
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brewing Class

I've been brewing for almost ten years now. I know what I'm doing and the steps I take on my brew days. But now the local community college has asked if I would teach a course in brewing.
I'm searching for a basic outline that I can use/modify to teach this class. The Con Ed. dean and I agree that we want this to be an informative but fun class. The class will be four wks long. One evening for two hours max for each class.
Here is what I have so far:

1st Class - Actually brew a beer. I would actually have brewpot close to boil at beginning of class. This would be all hands on.
2nd Class - Go over the basics. Some history of beer. How hops, grain & yeast can change the taste....need a little help on this week.
3rd Class - Bottle the brew from first class. Hands on again
4th Class - Hopefully sample what was brewed/bottled. Also going to get class to bring in a bottle from store to sample.Going to try and work with chef from culinary class to do a beer/food pairing.

Each class is scheduled for 2hrs, but I wouldn't hold to this time if we finish early. I checked with the dean about sampling and that won't be a problem since they have an ABC permit.

So, any and all advice is appreciated...class starts last week of March!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 11:56 PM   #2
Braufessor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 415 Times on 292 Posts
Likes Given: 329