Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > brewing in the basement?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2005, 01:21 PM   #1
barside laundry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default brewing in the basement?

I have been making for about 3 years and I always brew outside. My basement appears to perfect for brewing as I have a sink, gas hook up, nice counters. So am I looking for advice about actually brewing in the basement. I cannot take my propane bottle down there (that just seems wrong), what about electric heating elements? What about tapping into my house's gas line (which I installed) and use a natural gas burner? Ventilation?

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2005, 01:29 PM   #2
bikebryan
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by barside laundry
I have been making for about 3 years and I always brew outside. My basement appears to perfect for brewing as I have a sink, gas hook up, nice counters. So am I looking for advice about actually brewing in the basement. I cannot take my propane bottle down there (that just seems wrong), what about electric heating elements? What about tapping into my house's gas line (which I installed) and use a natural gas burner? Ventilation?

Thanks
The biggest thing I'd worry about is ventilation. As you brew, CO is being produced, and CO sinks (heavier than air). As you are already in the basement, where's it going to sink to? If you can properly vent the area you are brewing in, you may be OK, but high BTU burners are just not meant to be used indoors. To me it's an unacceptable risk.

Old 09-18-2005, 01:41 PM   #3
2nd Street Brewery

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Yes, Propane burner indoors=trouble.