Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Brazilian "Malzbier" recipe to homebrew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2009, 11:13 PM   #1
Dougieb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brazilian "Malzbier" recipe to homebrew

My wife is from Brazil and I would like to surprise her with her favorite beer, a Malzbier. In Brazil, the two most famous brands are Antarctica and Brahma. (She prefers the Antarctica.) The Brazilian Malzbier is similar to the German Malzbier but the Brazilian has approximately 3.5% to 4% alcohol. (The German varieties are basically non-alcoholic as I understand it.)

I would GREATLY appreciate any info/help in this area. I am relatively new to the home brew world but am not afraid to try. I know she would appreciate.

I would even buy it for her but I do not think it is imported into the US.

Thanks,
Dougieb

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2009, 11:24 PM   #2
VTBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

That's a schwarzbier I think. A black lager. But comes with a twist:

Cervejaria Antarctica’s great tradition launched in 1935 this beer comprised of sweet aroma and flavor and smooth bitterness. Antarctica Malzbier has a manufacturing process different from Pilsen style beer. During the brewing process, caramel syrup is added ensuring the differentiated flavor, color and aroma of the product. (AmBev - Companhia de Bebidas das Américas)

A lot of breweries list ingredients used which can then be put into a calculator to get the right ABV/SRM/IBU. This brewery lists the ingredients as:

"Water, malt, non-malted cereals, carbohydrates, hops, roasted malt and caramel."

Not real helpful. Thank god they reminded us of the water. Maybe start with a schwarzbier (theres one in my signature) and toy with the carmel syrup...say a pound...at 20 mins left in boil? The non-malted cerals would be...flaked barley?

Recipes And Blogs: ClubHomeBrew