HBT 2015 Big Giveaway - Enter Now

Huge Supporting Membership Discounts - 20% Off

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Boiling on electric stove
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2010, 08:51 PM   #1
azezpz1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Default Boiling on electric stove

How many gallons is the rough maximum I should boil at once on an electric stove. I live in an apartment, so using a propane burner isn't exactly a viable option, but I was hoping to do a full boil this weekend if possible. Any help would be much appreciated.

__________________
azezpz1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2010, 08:56 PM   #2
mustangracer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: washington, missouri
Posts: 33
Default

If you have a big enough pot, boil it all

__________________
mustangracer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2010, 08:57 PM   #3
LuckyRVA
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 48
Default

I think it depends on your stove mostly. I've read other people on here getting 8+ gallons to boil on an electric range (perhaps it was gas?).

Toss some water in there before the weekend and test it out.

__________________

1. Bottled - IPA
2. Fermenter - Pumpkin Dubbel

LuckyRVA is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2010, 09:00 PM   #4
JonK331
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,101
Liked 31 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Yeah depends on the stove and how it's hooked up, if hooked up to 110 it won't work so well, 220 and your're okay. When I used to boil on the stove I could do as much as 4 gallons but it took a while to get up to 212F. Another option is to split your batch into two pots, that'll work as well but is a bit of a pain.

__________________
JonK331 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2010, 09:49 PM   #5
Baja_Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2,131
Liked 38 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

I think my stove is 30A, 220 V and I had 11 gallons at 200 yesterday (after a couple hours of one burner not being fully on) That was my strike and sparge water though (I set it up before I left for a few hours and turned it on low and slow,) soooo I ended up boiling about 8 gallons or so. If you have a big enough pot and can span it across 2 burners you're much better off.

__________________

Courage les garçons, et patience, vos femmes vont finir par apprécier la bière !

Baja_Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2010, 10:46 PM   #6
enaz32
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 26
Default

Yea you can do it, just takes forever.

__________________
enaz32 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2010, 01:02 AM   #7
bovineblitz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 2,363
Liked 120 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

I can boil ~7.5 gallons in at most 40 minutes (seems more like 30 but it's hard to tell cuz I don't go from tap to boiling right away), though I did purchase a canning element to replace the large coil on my stove (it outputs more heat than the standard element). That was about $20 or so. I place the pot on both the large coil and half the back coil so I can use both.

The key is good insulation. I thought about a jacket or something for the pot but decided that'd be too difficult for me to pull off, plus most of the heat is lost either going out from the sides underneath the pot or into the metal of the stove itself. My cheap strategy is to remove both element, place a 'vertical' layer of foil down into both holes, then place 'horizontal' layers of foil across each one. I put the elements back into place by punching holes in the foil and inserting them like normal, then the pot goes on top and the excess foil gets turned up, basically creating a "bowl" of foil that that pot and coils are sitting inside of.

I just take a couple more large strips of foil and wrap them around the pot maybe with an extra layer across the bottom. This way, sooooo much heat that is normally lost is transferred into your wort instead!

I save as much of the foil as I can and reuse it, but eventually it winds up tearing and I have to use new foil. The foil that goes underneath the coils always gets ruined though.

__________________
bovineblitz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2010, 01:23 AM   #8
pernox
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 393
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 40

Default

It all depends on your stove. I can roll 7.5 gallons easy - on a slicktop. It's a beast.

Try it with water first - if you can get the water to a vigorous boil, you're good.

__________________

"God forbid we should ever be twenty years without such a rebellion.... And what country can preserve its liberties, if its rulers are not warned from time to time, that this people preserve the spirit of resistance? Let them take arms.... The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson, in letter to William S. Smith, 1787

pernox is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2010, 05:10 AM   #9
Pommy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 727
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

My stove too forever to get 3 gallons up to a boil but that was a * electric one. Id give it a go but if it was me id move house and get a bigger set up

__________________
Pommy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2010, 07:22 PM   #10
Prime
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 194
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Unfortunately You have to test to know what your stove can handle. Hopefully you won't be like me. I can't boil more than 4 gallons on my stove and to do that I have to straddle 2 burners. I can't wait for this thing to die so I can replace it.

__________________
Homebrew Engineer
Prime is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!!! Stove Can't Reach Boil Prime General Beer Discussion 28 08-21-2010 03:54 PM
My stove is WEAK Chitin General Beer Discussion 13 12-23-2009 01:24 AM
Not boiling down a gal/hr... tireater General Beer Discussion 9 04-28-2009 08:31 PM
Cleaning wort off of the stove. Mustangfreak General Beer Discussion 14 10-19-2007 03:14 PM
Yay! Boiling Pot! patrck17 General Beer Discussion 14 04-18-2006 04:20 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS